Taste of Malawi


Learning for independence

Taste of Malawi is a young tailoring project in the warm heart of Africa, supporting local women on their way to independence. They receive a tailoring training and business workshops, enabling them to start their own tailoring business. Furthermore, the project offers them a broad network, which allows them to meet and connect with women, who are in the same situation. Hence, it is not only an educational institution but also a home-like safe place. Taste of Malawi also keeps advising women after they have completed their training program.

Tailor at Taste of Malawi e.V.

In addition to the project centre in Lilongwe, Taste of Malawi consists of a international, European group of young motivated volunteers. Team Europe takes care of tasks like fund-raising, selling the products the women sew in the project, public relations and general organisational issues. Most of the team members haven't finished their studies or formation yet, so not only our tailors in Malawi learn from the project, but the volunteers in Europe learn a lot the bigger the project grows and with each new challenge it faces.

Support us!


Takulandirani ku Malawi
Welcome to Malawi

18. March 2018

Finally I’m here. After 24 hours of travel and three stops in the Netherlands, Kenya and Mozambique, I arrived in Lilongwe. It is warm, colourful and exhausting.

Blog post #2 – Welcome to Malawi Read more on our blog!

Busy sewing

Sad times! You won't find us on any markets or events in the next time, but our sales team is already looking for new occasions to spread the taste of Malawi. And as soon as they have found something, you will find something here – the next dates!
If you want to help us spread chitenje and good vibes, become a part of our sales team and reach out to us today:

Say hi! More events

Like, follow, contact us!

Or stay up to date with our newsletter:

EN
Taste of Malawi e.V.

Home

Lernen für die Unabhängigkeit

Taste of Malawi e.V. ist ein junges Nähprojekt im Herzen von Afrika. Frauen werden durch gezielte Förderung und Weiterbildung auf ihrem Weg in ein unabhängiges Leben unterstützt. Sie erhalten eine einjährige Schneiderausbildung, welche in Kombination mit kaufmännischen Workshops das Fundament für die eigene berufliche Selbstständigkeit bildet. Das Projekt bietet den Frauen weiterhin ein breites Netzwerk an Kontakten. Dieses erleichtert ihnen nicht nur den Start ins Berufsleben, sondern ermöglicht ihnen auch ein gegenseitiges Kennenlernen mit Frauen in ähnlichen Situationen. Auch nach der Ausbildung werden die Schneiderinnen auf ihrem Weg begleitet, der in die finanzielle Unabhängigkeit führt.

Schneiderin bei Taste of Malawi e.V.

Neben dem Projektstandort in Lilongwe besteht Taste of Malawi aus einer internationalen, europäischen Gruppe junger motivierter Ehrenamtlicher. Team Europa kümmert sich um das Sammeln von Spendengeldern, dem Verkauf der im Projekt produzierten Produkte, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und die allgemeine Organisation des Projekts. Die meisten Teammitglieder befinden sich noch in ihrer Berufsausbildung und so lernen nicht nur die Frauen in Malawi in dem Projekt, sondern auch die Ehrenamtlichen in Europa lernen je größer das Projekt wird und mit jeder neuen Herausforderung, vor der es steht, eine Menge dazu.

Unterstütz uns!

Produkte

Dankeschön!
Zikomo kwambiri!

9. Oktober 2018

Vor sieben Monaten habe ich meinen ersten Blogeintrag geschrieben und jetzt ist meine Zeit in Malawi tatsächlich schon vorbei. Ich bin wieder zurück in Deutschland und muss mich hier erst einmal wieder an den Alltag gewöhnen.

Blogeintrag #8 – Dankeschön! Lies mehr auf unserem Blog!

15. Dezember, Telgte

MSMG- und JBO-Weihnachtskonzert

Das traditionelle Weihnachtskonzert der Orchesterklassen und des Philharmonischen Jugendblasorchesters des Maria-Sibylla-Merian-Gymnasiums Telgte bietet die ideale Einstimmung auf Weihnachten. Der Eintritt ist frei, die Musiker sammeln am Ende Spenden für Taste of Malawi e.V.!

Mehr Infos Weitere Veranstaltungen

Like, follow, schreib uns!

Oder bleib auf dem Laufenden mit unserem Newsletter: